Tuesday, May 24, 2022

World Cup Football

FIFA history in football
Queen's Park in 1880-81

Origin of the game football in its contemporary form can be traced to England in the 12th century. The world's first football association - The Football Association in England was founded and uniform standards and rules of the game was established by 1863. Eventually several National Football Associations were formed in different countries. With the growing popularity of the game, delegates from seven nations - France, Belgium, Denmark, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland formed the Federation International de Football Association (FIFA) in Paris on May 21st 1904. FIFA only consisted of European Associations up until 1909, but by 1913 South Africa, Argentina, Chile and USA joined. There were plans to set up an international competition as early as 1906 but after much negotiations and major setbacks in between, such as the First World War, it was much later under Jules Rimet the 3rd President of FIFA (Former President of the French Football Association), that the game actually took place. 

The first tournament of FIFA kicked off on 18 July at the Centenary Stadium in the year 1930 in Uruguay's capital Montevideo and the host country itself became the inaugural champions, beating Argentina in the final. It is the only game in which the teams were invited without qualifying rounds. Since then the championship has been awarded every four years, except in the years 1942 and 1946, for a period of 12 years due to World War II. 

From the Second World Cup (1934) onwards, qualifying tournaments between the teams in the six FIFA Continental zones are held, in places decided by FIFA within the respective continent. The winners qualify for the final. The final tournament phase involves 32 national teams competing over a four-week period in a previously nominated host nation. The host nation used to automatically qualify for the final but from the year 2006 onwards this right has been withdrawn and now even the host nation has to qualify. Over 17 tournaments held, only seven nations have ever won the World Cup Finals. Champions from Brazil, which is the most successful team, have won the tournament for five times. Now FIFA World Cup has become the World's most representative team sport event, and is contested by the men's national football teams of Federation Internationale de Football Association. FIFA also started the Women's World Cup in the year 1991. At present FIFA has 204 members in every part of the world.

World Cup Trophy

FIFA history in football
FIFA world cup Trophy

The 36 cm high, 6175 gms weighing FIFA World Cup Trophy is made of solid 18-carat gold and has been awarded to the World champions since 1974. The base of the trophy contains two layers of semi-precious malachite while the bottom side bears the engraved year and name of each FIFA World Cup winner. This cup is to be retained till 2038, until the entire plaque is filled with the names of the nations.

The original gold trophy bore the name of Jules Rimet, the third FIFA President who organised the First World Cup and was contested three times in the 1930s, before the Second World War put a 12-year stop to the competition.

The 'Adidas Golden Ball award' which is the most coveted individual trophy in the game is designed to honour the outstanding player throughout the tournament. The leading goal scorer at every FIFA World Cup final is awarded with the 'Adidas Golden Shoe award'. The best goalkeeper gets the 'Yashin award'. The other awards include 'FIFA Fair play award' for the team with the best fair play record. The team which entertains the public the most during the finals will get the 'Most Entertaining Team award'.