Monday, July 15, 2024

Area    : 32 Sq.Kms
Capital : Kavaratti
Districts         : 1
Language : Malayalam, Mahl
Population : 64,429(2011 Census)
Literacy : 92.28%
State Bird : Sooty Tern
State Animal : Butterfly Fish
State Flower :
State Tree : Bread fruit

The enchanting group of coral islands in the Arabian Sea form the smallest Union Territory of Lakshadweep. This archipelago consists of 12 atolls, three reefs and five submerged banks. Of its 36 islands covering an area of 32 Sq.Km only 10 are inhabited. They are Adroit, Amini, Agatti, Bitra, Chetlat, Kadmat, Kalpeni, Kavaratti (Headquarters), Kiltan and Minicoy. Bitra is the smallest of all. These islands earlier known as Laccadive, Minicoy and Amindivi islands are irregularly scattered between 8o and 12o30' North latitude and between 71o and 74o east longitude. read more

Agatti Island
Lakshadweep is one of the worlds most spectacular tropical island systems
About Lakshadweep
Tourist Information Centres
How to Reach Lakshadweep
Boats at Kavaratti
Lakshadweep lies about 220 to 440 Km from the coastal city of Cochin in Kerala. These islands and Cochin are linked by air and by ship, which takes about 18 to 20 hours...