Wednesday, August 17, 2022

Awards & Honours

Civilian Awards
| Param Vir Chakra Sports Awards  | Jnanpith Awards | Dada Saheb Phalke Awards | Other Awards


Dr.B.C. Roy Award

The Dr B C Roy National Award, the most prestigious award in the field of medicine in India. It was established under the aegis of the Medical Council of India, are given every year by the Dr. B.C. Roy National Award Fund to honour eminent people who have achieved distinction in medicine. This  Award was instituted in 1976. The award includes a silver plate, a citation and Rs 1 lakh in cash.

Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavna Award

Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavna Award  given on the birthday of Late Prime Minister Shri Rajiv Gandhi on August 20 every year, has been instituted to commemorate the lasting contribution made by him to promote peace, communal harmony and fight against violence.


Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar Award

The Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar award was instituted in honour of the CSIR (Council of Scientific and Industrial Research )  founder-director Shanti. S.Batnagar. It  is awarded annually by the CSIR to young Indian researchers every year for their contribution to scientific research.  The prize comprises a citation, a plaque and a cash award of Rs 2 lakh.


National Sahitya Academy Award

The Sahitya Academy was instituted in  15 December 1952.Sahitya Academy award given to the  most outstanding books of literary merit published in any of the major Indian languages recognised by it. The award carries a monetary component (Rs. 40, 000) and a plaque.

Indian Nobel Laureates

Name of Recipients


Name of Recipients


 Rabindranath Tagore (1861-1941)

 1913 for Literature

 Mother Teresa (1910-1997)

 1979 for Peace

 C.V.Raman (1888-1970)

 1930 for Physics

 S. Chandra Shekhar (1910-1995)

 1983 for Physics

 Hargobind Khorana (1922- )

 1968 for Medicine

 Amartya Sen

 1999 for Economics