Saturday, April 13, 2024

Public Services

All India Services

All India Service was created for maintaining the unity, integrity and stability of the nation after independence. It includes the Indian Administrative Service (IAS), the Indian Police Service (IPS) and the Indian Forest Service (IFS- created in 1966). The recruitment to all the three services is made by the UPSC (Union Public Service Commission) these officers are recruited and trained by the central government and their services are placed under various State cadres. Indian Administrative Service is controlled by the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions.

Central Secretariat Services

The Central Secretariat has three services, namely:-
Central Secretariat Service (CSS)
Central Secretariat Stenographer's Services (CSSS)
Central Secretariat Clerical Service (CSCS)

Union Public Service Commission

Union Public Service Commission is an independent body (UPSC) for recruitment to Group 'A' and Group 'B' civil posts (with the maximum pay not less than 10,500) under Central Government and for advice in various service matters. The chairman and members of the Commission are appointed by the President for tenure of six years or till the age of 65 years. The Chairman and members are not eligible for further employment under the Government.

Staff Selection Commission

It was set up on 1 July 1976 for recruitment to group 'B' posts in the various Ministries/Departments and their Subordinate Offices (with the maximum pay scale below 10,500) and group 'C' non-technical posts in the various Ministries/Departments posts which are specifically exempted. It comprises of a Chairman, two members and Secretary-cum-Controller of Examinations. The tenure of Chairman /Members is for five years or till they attain the age of 62 years. The Commission's headquarters and the office of its Northern Region are in New Delhi. The Offices of Central, Western, Eastern, North-Eastern, Southern and Karnataka-Kerala Region are at Allahabad, Mumbai, Calcutta, Guwahati, Chennai and Bangalore respectively. Its sub-regional offices of Madhya Pradesh region and North-Western region are at Raipur and Chandigarh.