Sunday, February 25, 2024

Vice Presidents of India

Venkaiah NaiduVenkaiah Naidu (August 11, 2018 - till date)

Born into an agricultural family in the coastal district of Nellore in 1949, Venkaiah Naidu an ardent BJP worker, has been a member of the Rajya Sabha since 1998. Throughout his political career, Naidu has been guided by his motto which he firmly believes in: 'Nation first, Party next and Self last'.

Mohammad Hamid AnsariMohammad Hamid Ansari (August 11, 2007 - August 10, 2018)

Mohammad Hamid Ansari was born on April 1, 1937 in Kolkata. Hameed Ansari has served as an ambassador to Saudi Arabia, Afghanistan, Iran, UAE and as a High commissioner to Australia. Mr Ansari served two terms as Vice President and Chairman of Rajya Sabha.

Bharion Singh ShekhawatBharion Singh Shekhawat (August 19 2002- 2007)

Bharion Singh Shekhawat was born on October 23, 1923 in Khachriawas in Sikar district of Rajasthan. He was the former Rajasthan Chief Minister and Veteran Bharatiya Janata Party politician.

Krishan KanthKrishan Kanth (1997-2002)
Born on February 28, 1927 at Amritsar, Punjab in a family of freedom fighters. He was a writer and parliamentarian.  Died on July 27, 2002.

K.R.Narayanan (1992-1997)
Shri Kocheril Raman Narayanan was born on October 27, 1920 in the village of Uzhavoor in Kottayam district, Kerala.  He was elected as vice-president of India and served in this position from August 21, 1992. After that he assumed office as President of India on July 25, 1997. 

Shankar Dayal SharmaDr.Shankar Dayal Sharma(1987-1992)
He was born in 1918.  Scholar, freedom fighter, was Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, Congress President, Union Cabinet minister, Governor and Vice-President. Died in 1999.

R.Venkataraman (1984-1987)

Shri Venkataraman was born in 1910. A lawyer by profession, he was the Secretary of the Madras Provincial Bar Federation. Served as Minister at various departments of the state as well as Finance and Defence departments in the centre. He was elected Vice-President of India in August, 1984. Later elected to the Office of the President of India.

Justice. M. Hitdayatullah Justice. M. Hitdayatullah (1979-1984)
Born in 1905, he was the judge of high court and served as Chief Commissioner of Scouts and Guides. Assumed office as acting President for a short period from 20th July to 24th August 1969. Died in 1992.

B.D. Jatti (1974-1979)B.D. Jatti
He was born in 1913 and was a Lawyer by profession. He became Chief Minister of Karnataka and Governor of Orissa. During his tenure as Vice President, he assumed office as Acting President from 11 February 1977 to 25 July 1977. Died in 2002.

G.S. Pathak (1969-1974)
Gopal Swarup Pathak was born in February 26, 1896. He was the judge in Allahabad High Court, member of Rajya Sabha, Union Minister of Law, Governor of Mysore state and Chancellor in various universities. Died on October 4, 1982. 

V.V.GiriV.V.Giri (1967-1969)
He was born in 1884Lawyer by profession, Veteran trade unionist. Served as Vice President as well as President. Received Bharat Ratna in 1975.Died in 1980.

Dr. Zakir HussainDr. Zakir Hussain (1962-1967) 
A great patriot, educationalist and social worker. Born in 1897, served as chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University. Became the Vice President in 1962. Served till he became the President in 1967. Received Bharat Ratna in 1963. Died in 1969.

Dr. S. Radhakrishnan (1952-1962) 

Dr. S. Radhakrishnan Indian Scholar, Philosopher, Writer and statesman, was born in 1888. Elected as the First Vice President in 1952 and later the President. He taught at Oxford University for 16years. He was Chairman of UNESCO. 'The Hindu view of Life' and 'The India Philosophy' are his books. He was Awarded with 'Bharat Ratna' in 1954. He Died in 1975.