Thursday, February 22, 2024

Yoga is a way of life, an art of righteous living or an integrated system for the benefit of the  body, mind and inner spirit. This art originated, was perfected and practiced in India thousands of years ago.

The references to yoga are available in 'Upanishads' and 'Puranas' composed by Indian Aryans in the later Vedic and post- Vedic period.

The main credit for systematizing yoga goes to Patanjali who wrote 'Yoga Sutra', two thousand Years ago.

He described the principles of the full eight fold yogic discipline. He composed the treatise in brief code words known as 'Sutras'...


Asanas 'Asanas' in Sanskrit means posture. There are around 84 asanas - each one has a special name, special form and a distinct way of performing. Asanas are designed to promote, a state of mental and physical well-being or good health.
dot Bhujanga Asana dot dot Sarvanga Asana
dot Dhanur Asana dot Shava Asana dot Matsya Asana
dot Hala Asana dot Paschimothan Asana dot Uttan Pada Asana
dot Salabha Asana      
 Essentials of Yoga
Yoga is a Scientific System of physical and mental excellence which requires obedience to certain rules, principle and methodology in order to acquire satisfactory results.

 Pranayama - breathing control in yoga
Pranayama 'Pranayama' is the fourth stage in Pathanjali's eight stage Yoga discipline. Two Sanskrit words are combined in the word 'Pranayama' - Prana and Ayama. 'Prana' means life or life force.
dot Kapalabhati dot Ujjayee dot Shitali dot Viloma

Disclaimer : We are not responsible or liable for any injury or harm caused to the practitioner while practicing the asanas given here. Some asanas may be inappropriate under certain medical conditions. We suggest that you consult a qualified instructor.