Wednesday, May 29, 2024
   /   /  Post Comments

Jam-Packed Entertainment Session: The IPL 2018

  By : , ,       25.4.2018         Mail Now

Exciting as always, the IPL 2018 is back again with a bang. On 27th and 28th January, eight franchisesclashed heads on to secure the best players for their teams. Most of the franchises managed to secure a magnificent combination involving top and emerging talent from domestic and international cricket landscape. The audience has been anticipating the nail-biting thrillers that IPL has never failed to offer. Every single ball will be a defining moment that can impact the fortune of a team.

The IPL Auctions

The auctions this year were quite surprising since we saw some major changes. A total of 578 players were available,and the franchises bought just 169 of them.

The biggest change that most fans will definitely have noticed is that the Kings XI Punjab have secured Chris Gayle who turns out to be the player with most expectations in IPL. He has scored at an average of above 41 which is highest than any other player in IPL. Moreover, he has the fastest century to his name in IPL when he scored one off just 30 deliveries. For a decade, he was in Royal Challengers Bangalore,but this time the Kings XI picked him. Let us see if he will be able to turn the fortune for Kings this time.

IPL Auction Takeaways

- Most Expensive Cricketer in IPL 2018: Ben Stokes from England

- Most Expensive Indian Cricketer: Jaydev Unadkat

- Team with Two Most Expensive Players in IPL 2018: Rajasthan Royals- Krishnappa Gowtham and Jaydev Unadkat

- First Time in History a Nepali Player will be featured in IPL 2018

- Chennai Super Kings is back in action again after their suspension

Who will win IPL 2018?

Since its inception, IPL has seen many franchises leave and new franchises entering the tournament. However, this time, the teams taking part are mentioned as follows:

Mumbai Indians: The most successful IPL team till date,Mumbai Indians will be captained by Rohit Sharma. Mumbai Indians are the defending champions of IPL with a glorious track record of victories in the 2013, 2015 and 2017 season.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Kolkata Knight Riders will not have GautamGambhir this time; rather they will be captained by Dinesh Karthik. Owned by Shahrukh Khan, the team was a winner in both 2012 and 2014 seasons. Let us see where they get this time.

Chennai Super Kings: Banned from IPL for two seasons, CSK is back in the tournament, this season. Captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, technically, CSK is more consistent compared to Mumbai Indians. However, this time, the team might have some moral issues since they were dismissed from two seasons and will have to take a fresh start now. CSK have won the tournament two times; in 2010 and 2011.

Rajasthan Royals: Ajinkya Rahane will lead Rajasthan Royals that has won IPL once in 2008.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Captained byKane Williamson, the team won IPL 2016.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Theteam will manage to gain viewership and fanbase as it is captained by the Indian skipper Virat Kohli.

Kings XI Punjab: The team will be captained by RavichandranAshwin.

Delhi Daredevils: GautamGambhir will now be seen as the captain of Delhi Daredevils.

Who will win the purple cap in IPL 11?

Last season, it was the young Bhuvneshwar Kumar who ended up as the highest wicket-taker in the tournament and hence was declared Purple Cap winner. This year, there are lots of bowlers who will be in action and are definitely the potential candidates for purple cap.

Rashid Khan, the teenager from Afghanistan,has been taken by Sunrisers Hyderabad. They secured him for Rs. 9 crores.

Imran Tahir, the danger man, is alwaysin the spotlight when he is in the field. With an impressive economy of 7.85 and 18 wickets in last season, let's see what he is capable of this time.

Kuldeep Yadav, the KKR youngster,will be the true challenger for defending winner, Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Jasprit Bumrah took 20 wickets in the last season and had an impressive economy of 7.35. He made the life of batsmen really difficult with his pace and variation.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar- the defending purple cap winner, has not lost his gleam and is always the best shot if you want to bet for the purple cap winner this season.

There is also a fair bit of excitement about some of the India U-19 players. So the only question that remains is can they all deliver to our expectation on this big stage? Well, we will have to wait 6 weeks for the answer.

Letís see what this season of IPL has stored for us. So donít forget to watch IPL live scores and experience the thrill of this season on Hotstar.

DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors /contributors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy/opinion of / Suni systems Pvt. Ltd. / Suni systems Pvt. Ltd and its staff, affiliates accept no liability whatsoever for any loss or damage of any kind arising out of the use of all or any part of the material published in the site. In case of any queries,or complaints about the authenticity of the articles posted by contributors, please contact us via email.