Thursday, August 18, 2022

Narendra Modi

"A creative man is motivated by the desire to achieve, not by the desire to beat others." (Narendra Modi)

"A good Governance has to be pro- people and Pro- active" (Narendra Modi)

Narendra Damodardas Modi, dynamic developmental figure who has transformed the landscape of his home state Gujarat, is the 15th and the current Prime Minister of India. As his aides testify, it is Modi's ability to convert adversity into opportunity that has helped him to surge from one milestone to another. He has been praised for the economic policies he adapted as Chief Minister of Gujarat which resulted in a high rate economic growth in that state. A Hindu nationalist, strict vegetarian and a workaholic, Modi is also a passionate writer and poet. In spite of his busy schedule he often finds time for reading, writing and doing yoga. 

Narendra Damodardas Modi was born in a middle class family in Vadnagar, Gujarat, on 17 September 1950 to Damodardas Mulchand Modi and Heeraben. His early life was a struggle, he helped his father run a tea stall in Vadnagar railway station. In school, he was known for his skills in public speech, debate and theater performance. At the age of eight he came in contact with Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), the youth wing of the RSS where he met Lakshmanrao Inamdar, who is known as his political guru.

At the age of 13, much against his wishes, he was engaged to Jashodaben Chimanlal and after 5 years married her. According to biographers, the marriage was never consummated as he wanted to be a monk and left home in search of truth. The years from 1967 to 1971 he wandered around many places and visited Ram Krishna Mission in Rajkot, Belur Math near Kolkata, Swami Vivekananda Ashram in Almora and then Himalayan foothills in search of spirituality. He returned to Vadnagar only later in 1975.

Political career of Modi began after he officially joined the RSS and moved into the Hedgewar Bhawan in Nagpur. He participated in movements against the state of emergency declared by Indira Gandhi in 1975 and coordinated activities of Sangh Parivar from underground. He formally joined the BJP in 1987 and became, within a year, General Secretary of its Gujarat unit. His first trial after joining BJP was the Muncipal Election in Ahmedabad. Modi's tireless efforts took BJP to become the ruling Party of Ahmedabad Muncipal Council. He came into main stream of politics in 1988 and under his coordination BJP came into power in Gujarat in 1995. Meanwhile he pursued his education too, and became a post graduate in political science from Gujarat University.

Being a key figure of the party and known for his organizational skill, Modi planned several Yatras all over India. It was Modi who helped organise the very successful Somnath to Ayodhya Yatra in 1990 led by Shri LK Advani and the Ekta Yatra led by Dr. Murli Manohar Joshi. Nyay Yatra in 1987 and the Lok Shakti Yatra in 1989, Vivekananda Yuva Vikas Yatra, in 2012 to name a few, also had his backing.

In 1995, he became the BJP's National Secretary and was given charge of the states in North India. Three years later Narendra Modi was made the National General Secretary. He was elected as the Chief Minister of Gujarat in 2001 and continued his tenure till he become the Prime Minister. The horrific communal riots in Gujarat in February 2002, gifted a bad image to Modi across India and beyond. But over time, Modi vanquished all ill fame by achieving astonishing economic development in Gujarat. Under his governance, Gujarat underwent a sea change in the industrial, agricultural and economic front.

In 2013, Modi was appointed as the Chairman of BJP's Central Election Campaign Committee for the 2014 general election and was declared as the Prime Minister Candidate. The rest is history. Narendra Modi contested the election from two constituencies, Varanasi and Vadodara and won both seats with a very high margin. With his charisma, the party unanimously won Indian General elections in 2014. In 26th May of 2014, Modi was sworn in as the 15th Prime Minister of India.

(Updated on 30/5/2014)