Wednesday, August 17, 2022
H D Deve Gowda

HD Deve Gowda, polularly known as " Mannina Maga (Son of Soil)" is a faithfull fighter for socio- economic development and an avid admirer of cultural heritage. He was the 11th Prime Minister of India and the 14th Chief minister of the state of Karnataka. He is a powerfull leader of Vokkalliga Community and the national president of Janata Dal (Secular) Party.

Gowda was born in 1933 at Hassan district of Karnataka and belongs to an agricultural family. After getting a diploma in civil engineering, Deve Gowda plunged into active politics at an early age of 20. He joined in Indian National congress and remained in that party till 1962. He started his political career as head of Anjaneya Co-operative Society and later on as a member of the Taluk Development Board. He was elected from Holenarasipura constituency to the Karnataka Legislative Assembly for seven consecutive terms. During the split of Congress party, he joined in Congress (O) and served as opposition leader. In 1975, Deve Gowda was jailed for 18 months when he opposed state of emergency inducted by Indira Gandhi.

In 1983, under the ministry of Shri Rama Krishna Hegde, Deve Gowda served as Minister for Public Works and Irrigation in Karnataka. In 1991, he was elected to 10th Lok Sabha from Hassan Lok Sabha constituency.

In December 1994, he was elected from the Ramanagara constituency and sworn in as the 14th Chief Minister of Karnataka. As a chief minister, Deve gowda contributed a lot to the developement of bangalore City, upliftment of farmers in the state, implemented 50 percent reservation policy for the Dalits & OBCs, brought reservation system for government jobs to rural educated un-employees, introduced green card scheme through which people who are below in proverty line would get ration at the cheaper price.

Shri Deve Gowda resigned as the Chief Minister of Karnataka on May 30, 1996 to be sworn in as the 11th Prime Minister of India. He was also in Charge of Ministries/Departments of Petroleum and Chemicals, Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Atomic Energy, Home Affairs, Agriculture, Food Processing Industries, Urban Affairs and Employment and Non-Conventional Energy Sources and continued till 11 April 1997.

From 1998 onwards he was re-elected as member of Lok sabha for consecutive four terms. In 2014, he was again elected as member of 16th Lok Sabha under Modi Government.