Saturday, July 11, 2020

Known as 'Young Turk' for his courage and bold decisions he took, Chandra Shekhar was the 9th prime minister of India. Chandrashekhar was born on July one, 1927 in a farmer family in Ballia district of Uttar Pradesh. He , started his political career during his college days and was nnown as a as a firebrand idealist.

After graduation, in early 1950's, he stepped into Indian politics by joining Socialist Party.

but later joined in Congress party and Janata DalParty. He was elected as Member of Rajyasabha in 1962 and entered into Lok Sabha during 1967. He was President of the Janata Party from 1977 to 1988. Later in 1990, he along with 64 MPs left Janata Dal and formed a new party Samajwadi Party. In November 1990, Chandra Shekhar was sworn as the eighth Prime Minister of India.

(Updated on 30/5/2014)