Monday, July 15, 2024
Area    : 55,845 square kms.
Capital : Dehradun
Districts         : 13
Language : Hindi and Sanskrit
Population : 10,086,292 (2011 census)
Literacy : 78.82% (2011 census)
State Bird : Himalayan Monal
State Animal : Musk Deer
State Flower : Brahm Kamal
State Tree : Burans

Uttarakhand (Uttaranchal), formerly a part of Uttar Pradesh was formed on November 9th, 2000 as the 27th state of the Indian Union. The state with Dehradun as the capital has 13 districts including Dehradun, Uttarkashi, Tehri Garhwal, Rudraprayag, Chamoli, Hardwar, Pauri Garhwal, Bageswar, Pithoragarh, Almora, Nainital, Champawat and Udham Singh Nagar. A hill state at the foot of the Himalayas, Uttarakhand is bounded by China in the north & Nepal in the east, Himachal in the north west and Uttar Pradesh in the south..

Uttarakhand also known as Devbhoomi or the Abode of the gods, has several highly venerated pilgrimage places..Read More

▪    Tourist Information Centres
▪    About Uttarakhand
▪    How to Reach There

Colourful Uttarakhand

The world famous Kumbh Mela/Ardh Kumbh Mela is held at Hardwar every twelfth/sixth year interval....Read More

▪    Festivals
▪    Festival Calendar

Uttaranchal finds mention in the ancient Hindu scriptures as Kedarkhand, Manakhand and Himavat.

▪    History ▪    Classifieds
▪    Economy ▪    Jobs
▪    Land ▪    Real Estate
▪    District Map ▪    Government Directory