Monday, October 3, 2022

Telangana Lok Sabha Elections 2014

Telangana Election results

Telangana region of the United Andhra Pradesh went for Lok Sabha Assembly Elections on April 30, 2014 and Seemandhra region on May 7th, 2014. 

Political parties including the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), Congress, TDP, BJP and Left competed for power in Telangana, while the Seemandhra region witnessed a fierce contest between the YSR Congress, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and the Congress. 

As many as 6.24 crore voters exercised their franchise in the two-phase polling in the state. In all, there was 69,000 polling stations across the state and to ensure peaceful elections, 457 companies of paramilitary force were deployed. The entire election process, including repolling was completed by May 28.

Though elections were held in united Andhra Pradesh, it was based on the understanding that Assembly will be split into two on the Appointed Day of June 2nd, with 175 constituencies going to residuary Andhra Pradesh and 119 seats to Telangana. Of the 42 Lok Sabha seats, 25 seats went to residuary Andhra Pradesh and 17 seats to Telangana. 

The results were declared on May 16, 2014. TRS stormed to power in Telangana by winning 63 seats in the assembly and also bagged 11 Lok Sabha seats. On the Appointed Day of June 2nd 2014, the leader of the largest political party TRS, Chandrasekhara Rao took oath as the first Chief Minister of the new state Telangana. 

Courtesy : Election Commission of India