Monday, June 5, 2023



The new State Jharkhand formerly a part of Bihar state, was formed on November 15th, 2000 with Ranchi as its capital. Jharkhand

is the 28th state of the Indian Union. The districts are Garwa, Palamu, Chatra, Koderma, Hazaribagh, Giridih, Deoghar, Dumka, Godda, Pakur, Sahibganj, Dhanbad, Bokaro, Ranchi, Lohardagga, Gumla, West Singhbhum and East Singhbhum.  

The new state largely comprises of the forest tracks of Chhotanagpur plateau and Santhal Pargana and has distinct cultural traditions. This area in and around the districts of Chotanagpur and Santhal Parganas was formerly Southern Bihar and is thickly wooded and consists of a succession of hills.