Tuesday, December 6, 2022

History of Chhattisgarh

Chhattisgarh, carved out of Madhya Pradesh came into being on 1 November 2000 as the 26th State  of the Union.

The partition fulfilled the long-cherished demand of the tribal people. 

In ancient times the region was known as Dakshin-Kausal. The place finds mention in the epics Ramayana and Mahabharata. Between the sixth and twelfth centuries Sarabhpurias, Panduvanshi, Somvanshi, Kalchuri and Nagvanshi rulers dominated this region. Kalchuris ruled in Chhattisgarh from 980 to 1791 AD. 

With the advent of the British in 1854, Raipur gained prominence instead of the capital Ratnapur. 

In 1904, Sambalpur was transferred to Orissa and estates of Sarguja were transferred from Bengal to Chhattisgarh.