Thursday, February 2, 2023


Tripura is a land that comprises one of the seven northeastern states of India. With a history shrouded in legends and traditions, Tripura represents a land ruled by the Rajas. It is also said to have played a role in the battle of Kurukshetra. A line of 74 rajas had ruled over Tripura after which the Rajas were called by the little of 'Manikya'.

In about 1280 Ad Tripura experienced the onslaught of the Muslims-This was followed by the inhabitation of settlers from Bengal and Burma. The Bengal sultanate dominated till 1515. During the rule of Jasodhara Manikya in 1586 the Tripura Rajas confronted the Mughals ceding a portion of Tripura to them after his defeat.

It was during Krishna Manikya's rule from 1760-1783 that Tripura ceded to the British who wrested power on the pretext of resolving issues between the rulers.

On 15th October 1949 it joined the India Union as a state.