British Governors and Governor Generals

This section gives a description about the rule of British Governors and Governor Generals.

Robert Clive laid the foundation of British rule in Bengal. Warren Hastings built up the British administration. Lord Cornwallis who ruled from (1786-1793) brought about reforms in the revenue collection. Sir John Shore's policy of non-intervention in the internal affairs of the native states which led to his recall. 

The system of Subsidiary Alliance, a contribution of Lord Wellesley, who was succeeded by Lord Cornwallis in 1805, - Sir George Barlow - Lord Minto - Lord Warren Hastings and Lord Amherst.

Lord William Bentick (1828-35) known for his social reforms, Lord Charles Metcalfe, Lord Auckland, Lord Ellenborough and Lord Hardinge.

Lord Dalhousie  well known for his 'Doctrine of Lapse'. Lord Lytton (1876-1880), Lord Ripon (1880-1884), Lord Dufferin (1884-1888 AD), Lord Lansdowne (1888-1895), Lord Elgin (1895 to 1899)

The partition of Bengal in 1905 which was the contribution of Lord Curzon (1899-1905). Lord Minto (1905- 1910) Lord Hardinge (1910-1916), Lord Chelmsford (1916-1921), Lord Reading (1921-1926), Lord Irwin (1926- 1931), Lord Willingdon (1931-1936),  Lord Linithgow (1936-1944), Lord Wavell (1944-1947) and the last Viceroy of the Crown Lord Mount Batten (1947-1948). 

Indian National Movement

Traces in brief the quest for freedom from the British rule.

List of Presidents and Prime Ministers