Mughal Kingdoms | Mughal

The Sayyid brothers 

Abdullah Khan and Hussain Khan were said to be descendants of a Mesopotamian Advendurer Abdul Farh who settled in India. Earlier a subedar of Bijapur and Ajmer Abdul Farh joined the services of Prince Muazzam. The Sayyid brothers helped in the accession of Farukh Siyar after the defeat of Jahandar Shah. They overcome the conspiracies of Farrukh Siyar and joined the jats bringing down Farrukh Siyar. They followed a conciliatory policy towards the Rajputs. Difference between the two brother resulted in the collapse of their power


Avadh was an independent Muslim Kingdom founded by Burhan-ul-Mulk and ruled from 1723-1739. He was succeeded by Safar jang who ruled from 1739-1754.He was succeeded by Suja-ud-Daulah and in 1775 he was succeeded by Asaf-ud-Daulah who ruled till 1797. In 1801 Nawab Saadat Ali accepted the subsidiary system and Avadh was annexed in 1856.


Rohilkhand was the territory of the Rohillas which was earlier called Katehar.It was the strong hold of the Afghans. The Rohillas became an independent kingdom under Ali Muhammad Khan Rohilla in 1721. In 1761 the Rohillas became subjected to the British under Warren Hastings and Rohilkhand was annexed to Avadh.


This territory was established by Muhammad Khan Bangash an Afghan adventurer. He joined the court of Farukh Siyar and established the town of Farukhabad

The Rajputs

The weakness of the Mughal Empire resulted in the Rajputs liberating themselves from the control of the Mughals.

The Jats

They lived in the areas of Delhi, Agra and Mathura. They revolted against the Mughals in 1669 and 1688 but were suppressed. Churaman ruled from 1600 to 1721. After him Badan Singh ruled from 1685-1756. He was succeeded by Suraj Mal who ruled from 1756 to 1763. After him the Jat Kingdom became insignificant.

The Sikhs

After the execution of the 9th Guru Guru Teg Bahadur the Sikhs rose against the Mughals. In 1699 Guru Gobind Singh founded the Khalsa organised on the military potential of the Sikhs. Guru Gobind Singh was followed by Banda Bahadur. The invasion of Nadir Shah and Ahmad Shah Adali gave the Sikhs an opportunity to rise once again. Between 1765 and 1800 the Sikhs brought the Punjab and Jammu under their control. Under Ranjit Singh the 12 confederacies or Misls were brought under an independent Sikh state.

The Marathas

One of the immediate reason for the disintegration of the Mughal empire was the continuous onslaught of the Marathas. Under Balai Vishwanath the Marathas became more powerful. He was the Peshwa from 1713 to 1720. He was succeeded by Baji Rao I who ruled from 1740 to 1761.


The state of Hyderabad was founded by Nizam-ul-Mulk Asaf Jah in 1724. This state was during the time of Lord Wellesely became a subordinate of the East India Company as per the subsidiary Alliance.


This was a territory of the Mughals in the Deccan After 1740 the British interfered in the affairs of the Carnatic.


After the decline of the Vijayanagar Empire the kingdom of Mysore became independent. Under Hyder Ali who was a petty officer in the army he brought glories to the kingdom of Mysore. After his death in 1782 he was succeeded by Tipu Sultan who ruled till 1799.