Tuesday, May 30, 2023
Andaman and Nicobar
Area    : 8249sq.km
Capital : Port Blair
Districts         : 3
Language : Bengali, Hindi, Nicobarese, Telegu, Tamil, Malayalam
Population : 380,581 (2011 census)
Literacy : 86.63% (2011 census)
State Bird : Wood Pigeon
State Animal : Dugong
State Tree : Andaman Padauk

The Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands is known throughout the country as 'Kalapani' because it was a place for penal settlement under the British Rule. The islands lie in a long and narrow broken chain, approximately north-south sprawling like an arc. Andaman group of islands and the Nicobar group of islands, have entirely different population and problems. The dreaded 10o channel which is about 145 km wide and 400 fathoms deep, separates the two groups. This territory comprises islands some of which are large such as North Andaman, Middle Andaman, South Andaman, Baratang, Little Andaman in the Andaman group and Car Nicobar. Situated in the Bay of Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar islands constitute one of the most important union territories...read more

About Andhra Pradesh

The terrain is generally mountainous with long ranges of hills enclosing narrow valleys.

Land Climate
Districts Festivals
Government Directory Colleges
Travel & Tourism

Port Blair is the capital of the Union Territory Andaman and Nicobar Islands. It is a small but picturesque place spread over a number of hills from Haddo across Secretariat Hill to Aberdeen Bazaar and South point...Read More

Andaman & Nicobar Islands Overview
Tourist Information Centres
How to Reach There

Last Updated on : 14 March 2018