Wednesday, May 29, 2024


Goa land

Goa is the smallest state of the Indian Union. It was part of the Union Territory of Goa, Daman and Diu. It became the twenty fifth state in the Indian Union on May 30th 1987 while Daman and Diu remained as union Territory. Situated between Karnataka and Maharashtra, Goa is bounded on the north by the Terekhol river, surrounded on the south and east by Karnataka while on the west is the Arabian sea. Its ancient namewas Gomantaka or Gomanchala.

Goa with its long beaches along the Arabian sea is a principal touristresort. Goa has a hilly terrain especially on its eastern side where lies the southern ends of the Sahyadri range. These mountains after skirting a considerable portion of the northern, eastern and southern boundaries branch off westwards across the territory with many spurs and ridges. The most picturesque region is located in the lower basin of the Mandovi and Zuari rivers which join to form a bay. There are about half a dozen islets between the estuaries of these rivers.