Tuesday, May 30, 2023

Home » Courts » Courts of Metropolitan Magistrate


In every metropolitan area, the State Government may, after consultation with the High Court, establish courts of Metropolitan Magistrates, at such places and in such numbers by a notification (Section 16 of the Criminal Procedure Code, 1973 (CrPc)). The presiding officers of such courts shall be appointed by the High Court. The jurisdiction and powers of every such Magistrate shall extend throughout the metropolitan area.

In every metropolitan area, the High Court shall appoint a Metropolitian Magistrate as Chief Metropolitian Magistrate. It may also appoint Additional Chief Metropolitian Magistrates and such magistrates shall have generally all the powers of a chief Metropolitian Magistrate.

The Chief Metropolitian Magistrate and every Additional Chief Metropolitian Magistrate shall be subordinate to the sessions Judge; and every other Metropolitian Magistrate shall, subject to the general control of the sessions judge, be subordinate to the Chief Metropolotian Magistrate.

According to Section 28 of the CrPc., a Metropolitan Magistrate may pass a sentence of imprisonment for a term not exceeding one year or of fine not exceeding five thousand rupees.