Friday, January 22, 2021
  Search :

Arjuna Award

The Arjuna Award was instituted in 1961 as the highest national recognition for outstanding performance in Sports and Games in the Olympics, Asian Games, Commonwealth Games, World Cup, World Championship disciplines and Cricket. However, controversy over selection has dogged the awards ever since its inception in 1961. As per the revised scheme from April 2002, the objective of Arjuna Awards is to recognize outstanding performance of sports persons, at international level only.

The winners will be decided by a Selection Committee comprising of a Chairperson, who is a sports person of eminence and 12 other members distinguished in the field of sports including 5 Olympians and 4 Arjuna Awardees from different disciplines, 2 Sports Administrators and a Member-Secretary of the Committee who would be the Director/Deputy Secretary (Sports) from the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. The Chairperson of the Committee in consultation with the Member-Secretary may constitute panels from among its members to assist the Committee in choosing the winners. Under the scheme, the awardee is given a bronze statuette of Arjuna, a scroll and a cash prize of 3 lakh rupees along with a monogram, a blazer and a tie. 

Only international level performance of sportspersons will be taken into account when deciding the awardees. Sports persons found positive for use of drugs banned by the International Olympic Committee in any laboratory accredited by International Olympic Committee will not be eligible for the Arjuna Awards. The maximum number of awards given in a year would be 15, one award in each discipline. However, in the year succeeding Asian Games and Commonwealth Games an exception could be made for a second award being given to a sports person in those disciplines in which more than 5 medals have been won in the Asian/Commonwealth Games.

The nominations for the award will be invited by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports from all recognized National Sports Federations recognized by the Government of India, Indian Olympic Association (IOA) and State/UT Governments in the month of January each year. As per the revised scheme, the last date for the receipt of nominations will be 31st May of the same year.



Name Field
Amit Kumar Wrestling
Apurvi Chandela Shooting
Lalita Babar Athletics
Raghunath Vokkalika Hockey
Rajat Chauhan Archery
Ritu Rani Hockey
Sandeep Singh Man Paralympic Games
Saurav Kothari Billiards & Snooker
Shiva Thapa Boxing
Sowmyajit Ghosh Table tennis
Subrata Pal Football
Vinesh Phogat Wrestling
Virender Singh Wrestling


Name Field
Gurpreet Singh Shooting


Name Field
Abhilasha Shashikant Mhatre Kabaddi
Ajinkya Rahane Cricket
Anup Kumar Yama Roller Skating
Babita Kumari Wrestling
Bajrang Punia Wrestling
Dipa Karmakar Gymnastics
Jitu Rai Shooting
Mandeep Jangra Boxing
Manjeet Chhillar Kabaddi
Poovamma Raji Machettira Athletics
PR Sreejesh Hockey
Rohit Sharma Cricket
Sandeep Kumar Archery
Sathish Sivalingam Weightlifting
Sawam Singh Rowing
Sharath Gayakwad Para Swimming
Srikanth Kidambi Badminton
Yumnam Sanathoi Devi Wushu


Name Field
Abhishek Varma Archery
Anaka Alankamony Squash
Aniban Lahiri Golf
Geethu Anna Jose Basket Ball
Girisha Hosanagara Nagarajegowda Athletics
Heena Sidhu Shooting
Jai Bhagwan Boxing
Mamta Pujari Kabaddi
Ranu Bala Chanu Weightlifting
Saji Thomas Rowing
Sunil Kumar Rana Wrestling
Tintu Lukka Athletics
Tom Joseph Volleyball
Valiyaveettil Diju Badminton


Name Field
Abhijeet Gupta Chess
Amit Kumar Saroha Athletics
Chekrovolu Swuro Archery
Dharmendra Dalal Wrestling
Gaganjeet Bhullar Golf
Joshna Chinappa Squash
Joshna Chinappa Squash
Kavita Chahal Boxing
Mouma Das Table tennis
Neha Rathi Wrestling
P.V. Sindhu Badminton
Rajkumari Rathore Shooting
Renjith Maheswari Athletics
Roopesh Shah Billiards & Snooker
Saba Anjum Karim Hockey
Virat Kohli Cricket